Frequently Asked Questions

Answered here.

The “max available” setting in Velocity Lapse looks for the highest available resolution, however device manufacturers restrict camera features like the true sensor resolution to the device pre-installed camera app. Third-party apps, including Velocity Lapse, cannot access the same native resolution of the sensor. On devices where the manufacturer does not limit third-party apps, you will get the native resolution.

By default, the exposure and focus are locked during capture to prevent flicker in the final time-lapse.

To unlock the exposure, tap the camera icon to open the camera settings and then toggle the exposure lock via the button with the lock icon. (Circled in yellow in the screenshot below) 

Please note that having the exposure unlocked during capture can produce flicker in the final time-lapse which you may need to edit out due to the exposure adjusting each frame. 

The majority of smartphone cameras have “fixed aperture”, meaning the aperture cannot be adjusted. It is not something we will provide in Velocity Lapse since the handful of (older) devices that do support variable aperture is not worth the trouble. See https://smartphone-photography.com/which-smartphone-cameras-allow-aperture-control/ for more info.

Please use the “Select Folder” button to select a folder with large amounts of images. When using the “Select Images” button there is no easy solution as the Android file picker will try to load all the images into memory and it will crash. It is not meant to select 1000s of images (and it would be quite tedious to do so).

This is expected behavior that happens when there are multiple image sequence resolutions in a single project. You likely imported images of a different resolution than the images in the existing project. During export, the app will only use images of the same resolution or higher as the Video Resolution value you select. The rest will be skipped.

Examples: Your existing project has 4K images and you import HD images. If you select 4K video export, the HD resolution images will be skipped. If you select HD video export or lower, all of the images will be used to create the video.

Can’t find a solution here? Please post in the community forum and I (the developer), or someone in the community, will do our best to help.